HELLO

It seems like it has been forever since I last posted on here…It’s not the lack of books or time that have hindered my posts, but the lack of reading, the lack of feeling the passion to post something. I think I centred this blog solely on books and reviews, which as you can see I’ve been having a hard time getting around to them.

My focus, my love of reading has taken a nose dive, and it has been snowballing for quite sometime now. I’m finding it extremely difficult to finish a book, as before I’d have 5 read in a week. I start reading and or I lose my focus, or I fall asleep…It is not that the story is dull or what have you, it’s me!

I have tons of books pending to read and I just can’t find it in me to do it (cue: *big sigh*) It is frustrating to tell you the truth. *Takes deep breath.*

I think since this blog is called ‘Love Words & Books’ we should focus it on words, not only talk about books. I will be incorporating poetry as shorts and the like. If you have a poem or something you would like for this blog to feature then please don’t hesitate in contacting us.

Hopefully things will start moving along soon!

 

BOOK REVIEW~ Quista Book One: Danay by Aviva Bel’Harold

Danay is an outsider on the water planet of Uma’Three. She’s too tall, too thin, she doesn’t have second lungs, and the water dries out her skin to the point she has to wear a reversed wet’skn just to survive.

When her Nan’Dah gives her a coming of age bracelet on her fifteenth birthday, she knows she won’t get a courtship pearl from anyone. She’s happy enough when the one boy she likes mysteriously returns after being gone for a whole Turn, but she isn’t surprised to discover he’s more interested in her best friend. That is … until he sees her bracelet. The braid has Danay’s pet name woven into it. Par’mida: ‘Precious One’ her Nan’Dah says. Phillip seems to think it means something different and now he won’t leave Danay’s side.

Something doesn’t seem right. Phillip is nervous around officials and he can’t answer any of her questions. And then the Emperor’s fleet arrives to perform loyalty tests. Caught in the middle and branded a traitor, Danay is swept into a secretive rebellion. When her best friend is taken by the Emperor’s men, Danay will have to learn that only she has the power to save the ones she loves.

BUY Ebook http://amzn.to/1Nurz0F

BUY Book http://amzn.to/1scu7X4

Review

What can I say without giving this book away?

This is a fantastic YA sci-fi/fantasy, filled with mystery, intrigue, action and secrets.

I can tell you I truly enjoyed the journey so far. I loved everything about the commence of this series. The characters became alive in my mind so effortlessly, all because Aviva has a way to make her characters, their world seem so vivid… she knows how to engage the reader with her words, I felt I was one of the gang, I was part of their world, following them like a shadow.

I read the story in one sitting as it engaged me from the mere beginning, I was hooked and taken by what was going on. I needed to know what would happen. Who was who, and who to believe and trust.

Quista is a fun read for teens as adults alike. Even if fantasy or Sci-fi aren’t your thing, try this out as I’m sure you will enjoy this well written story.

5 stars

 

RECENT READ: Just Fall by Nina Sadowsky

SynopsisBalanced on the razor edge of moral ambiguity, this sexy and seductive debut novel asks: How can you find out that the person you love is a killer…and continue to love him anyway? Perfect for fans of Karen Rose, Sandra Brown, and Erica Spindler.

On the night of her wedding to Rob, Ellie’s perfect world suddenly collapses. Her suave, charming, sophisticated husband is not the man she believed him to be. Could he really be a killer?

Ellie is rapidly swept into a lethal vortex of betrayal, lies, and uncertainty: Who is the man she married, really?

And how far will she go to protect him?

From Manhattan to the Caribbean, Rob and Ellie struggle to escape the grip of Rob’s former life – a life his employers are determined to ensnare him in for good.

When faced with a terrible choice—to become a murderess herself to save the man she loves, or to let him die—Ellie’s decision propels her into a whiplash-paced adventure, filled with cinematic twists and a startling sense of unease.

BUY BOOK: Paperback * Kindle-Ebook

Continue reading