HELLO

It seems like it has been forever since I last posted on here…It’s not the lack of books or time that have hindered my posts, but the lack of reading, the lack of feeling the passion to post something. I think I centred this blog solely on books and reviews, which as you can see I’ve been having a hard time getting around to them.

My focus, my love of reading has taken a nose dive, and it has been snowballing for quite sometime now. I’m finding it extremely difficult to finish a book, as before I’d have 5 read in a week. I start reading and or I lose my focus, or I fall asleep…It is not that the story is dull or what have you, it’s me!

I have tons of books pending to read and I just can’t find it in me to do it (cue: *big sigh*) It is frustrating to tell you the truth. *Takes deep breath.*

I think since this blog is called ‘Love Words & Books’ we should focus it on words, not only talk about books. I will be incorporating poetry as shorts and the like. If you have a poem or something you would like for this blog to feature then please don’t hesitate in contacting us.

Hopefully things will start moving along soon!

 

RECENT READ: Just Fall by Nina Sadowsky

SynopsisBalanced on the razor edge of moral ambiguity, this sexy and seductive debut novel asks: How can you find out that the person you love is a killer…and continue to love him anyway? Perfect for fans of Karen Rose, Sandra Brown, and Erica Spindler.

On the night of her wedding to Rob, Ellie’s perfect world suddenly collapses. Her suave, charming, sophisticated husband is not the man she believed him to be. Could he really be a killer?

Ellie is rapidly swept into a lethal vortex of betrayal, lies, and uncertainty: Who is the man she married, really?

And how far will she go to protect him?

From Manhattan to the Caribbean, Rob and Ellie struggle to escape the grip of Rob’s former life – a life his employers are determined to ensnare him in for good.

When faced with a terrible choice—to become a murderess herself to save the man she loves, or to let him die—Ellie’s decision propels her into a whiplash-paced adventure, filled with cinematic twists and a startling sense of unease.

BUY BOOK: Paperback * Kindle-Ebook

Continue reading

My Review & Thoughts on~ The Arrangement

I know the blog has been quiet for a while, and well I’ve been having trouble getting into reads. Since my last review on Jan 25, REVIEW & REC: He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. Tucker I have picked up a handful of books to read but failed horribly in finishing them. I can’t really pinpoint if the story was just not for me, or if I wasn’t in a reading ‘zone’. But anyways here I am, about to review a tittle that to be honest I almost gave up on a few times. I trudged through my book rut and made it to the end of this… hmmm… how should I put it? Real life inspired “fictional” story, based on the life and love triangle of American Writer, M.F.K. Fisher.

Love Words And Books pic copyPAPERBACK http://amzn.to/1Skvqyd

KINDLE (EBOOK) http://amzn.to/1mvDspT Continue reading

REVIEW~ What was Mine

Simply told but deeply affecting, in the bestselling tradition of Alice McDermott and Tom Perrotta, this urgent novel unravels the heartrending yet unsentimental tale of a woman who kidnaps a baby in a superstore—and gets away with it for twenty-one years.

Lucy Wakefield is a seemingly ordinary woman who does something extraordinary in a desperate moment: she takes a baby girl from a shopping cart and raises her as her own. It’s a secret she manages to keep for over two decades—from her daughter, the babysitter who helped raise her, family, coworkers, and friends.

When Lucy’s now-grown daughter Mia discovers the devastating truth of her origins, she is overwhelmed by confusion and anger and determines not to speak again to the mother who raised her. She reaches out to her birth mother for a tearful reunion, and Lucy is forced to flee to China to avoid prosecution. What follows is a ripple effect that alters the lives of many and challenges our understanding of the very meaning of motherhood.

Author Helen Klein Ross, whose work has appeared in The New Yorker, weaves a powerful story of upheaval and resilience told from the alternating perspectives of Lucy, Mia, Mia’s birth mother, and others intimately involved in the kidnapping. What Was Mine is a compelling tale of motherhood and loss, of grief and hope, and the life-shattering effects of a single, irrevocable moment.

Love Words And Books pic copy 6

Continue reading

REVIEW & REC: He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. Tucker

“A nail-biting thriller…clever twists and turns will keep readers in suspense, and just when they think they have figured out what happened to Celine, the story veers in another direction.”—Publishers Weekly

The USA TODAY bestselling author of the Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water series makes her suspense debut with this sexy, heartpounding story of a young woman determined to find justice after her best friend’s death, a story pulsing with the “intense, hot, emotional” (Colleen Hoover) writing that exhilarates her legions of fans.

A woman who almost had it all . . .

On the surface, Celine Gonzalez had everything a twenty-eight-year-old woman could want: a one-bedroom apartment on Manhattan’s Lower East Side, a job that (mostly) paid the bills, and an acceptance letter to the prestigious Hollingsworth Institute of Art, where she would finally live out her dream of becoming an antiques appraiser for a major auction house. All she had worked so hard to achieve was finally within her reach. So why would she kill herself?

A man who was supposed to be her salvation . . .

Maggie Sparkes arrives in New York City to pack up what’s left of her best friend’s belongings after a suicide that has left everyone stunned. The police have deemed the evidence conclusive: Celine got into bed, downed a lethal cocktail of pills and vodka, and never woke up. But when Maggie discovers a scandalous photograph in a lock box hidden in Celine’s apartment, she begins asking questions. Questions about the man Celine fell in love with. The man she never told anyone about, not even Maggie. The man Celine believed would change her life.

Until he became her ruin.

On the hunt for evidence that will force the police to reopen the case, Maggie uncovers more than she bargained for about Celine’s private life—and inadvertently puts herself on the radar of a killer. A killer who will stop at nothing to keep his crimes undiscovered.

Continue reading